Forum
Welcome to Aviation Forum Sign in | Join | Help
in Search  

Factors affecting Vmc

Last post 04-02-2009, 8:00 PM by oldengineer. 8 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  10-29-2003, 6:50 PM 2380

Factors affecting Vmc

Hi, I'm a new multi-engine student trying to gather more info on factors affecting Vmc.
    From what I've learned so far, it seems as though everyone has their own theories on what causes Vmc to increase and/or decrease. I've been taught by some that increasing weight will increase Vmc for the following reason:
    To maintain lift, the aircraft must fly at a higher angle of attack when weight is increased(true), and therefore left turning tendancies will be stronger at the higher angle of attack, hence increased weight will cause Vmc to go up. Is this really true??? Does anyone really even know? I've been taught by others that Vmc will decrease with weight for other less obvious reasons. Which is right and which is wrong? I can't find any detailed information on any of this stuff. Sounds to me like a bunch of people just sit around and try to think of stuff without any actual testing being done to determine their theories. Can anyone help me out with this? And do you know of any good references available?
  •  10-30-2003, 9:24 AM 2382 in reply to 2380

Re: Factors affecting Vmc

Hi ndg

Yes it is true and also tested.

Vmc is the calibrated airspeed at which, when the critical engine is suddenly made inoperative, it is possible to maintain control of the aeroplane with that engine still inoperative and then maintain straight flight at the same speed with an angle of bank of not more than 5 degrees.

When weight goes up the aircraft will have to fly at a higher Angle Of Attack (AOA) to produce the extra lift needed. Increase in AOA also means an increase in P-factor which is the reason Vmc is increased.